Please note the changed opening hours of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin since 16 April 2024. More

The Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester Berlin Performs at the Bode-Museum


The Bode-Museum and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (RSB) have initiated a new interdisciplinary collaboration juxtaposing works of art from the museum with pieces of music.

The music was selected by Vladimir Jurowski, principal conductor and artistic director of the RSB, together with musicians from the orchestra. In varying ensembles, the musicians present compositions by Johann Sebastian Bach, Igor Stravinsky and Gesualdo de Venosa in front of visual arts masterpieces by Tilman Riemenschneider, Donatello and others. The encounter and direct dialogue between the different art forms allow them to be experienced in an entirely new manner.

Introductory talks on the selected artworks between the musicians and Julien Chapuis, director of the Skulpturensammlung und des Museums für Byzantinische Kunst (Sculpture Collection and Museum of Byzantine Art) and deputy director of the Gemäldegalerie (Old Master Paintings), precede the musical performances.

The four-part series of videos is available on the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin YouTube channel and the Bode-Museum Facebook page, as well as the RSB YouTube channel.

The Artworks, Musical Compositions and Performers

Mosaic Icon, Christ the Merciful

Johann Sebastian Bach
Aria Have Mercy, My God from the St. Matthew Passion, BWV 244
Alice Lackner, mezzo soprano, Vladimir Jurowski, chamber organ, Andreas Neufeld, solo violin
Maria Pflüger, violin; Franziska Drechsel, violin; Christoph Zander, viola; Jörg Breuninger, violoncello

Pietro Bernini, Satyr with Panther

Igor Strawinsky
Three pieces for string quartet
Maria Pflüger, violin; Franziska Drechsel, violin; Christoph Zander, viola; Jörg Breuninger, violoncello

Tilman Riemenschneider, The Four Evangelists

Improvisation + Johann Sebastian Bach
Duet No. 1 E minor from Clavier-Übungen 3, BWV 802
Juliane Manyak, violin; Georg Boge, violoncello

Donatello, Madonna and Child (The Pazzi Madonna)

Gesualdo da Venosa
Ave Dulcissima Maria
Rudolf Döbler, flute; Gudrun Vogler, oboe; Miriam Kofler, bassoon; Ann-Kathrin Zacharias, clarinet; Anne Mentzen, horn