The Nominees for the Förderpreis für Filmkunst 2019 Have Been Chosen

Hamburger Bahnhof – Nationalgalerie der Gegenwart

Four nominees have been selected for the Förderpreis für Filmkunst 2019 (Award for Cinematic Arts). Since 2011 the prize has been awarded in a collaboration involving the Nationalgalerie and the Deutsche Filmakademie.

Nine members of the jury selected by the Deutsche Filmakademie seek out films that oscillate between the worlds of cinema and art. Their interest focuses not only on the individual work but also the filmmaker’s artistic self-conception and personal vision. The films are viewed and discussed over a period of six months. In 2019 Irene von Alberti, Jule Bartram, Maximilian Haselberger, Sigrid Hoerner, RP Kahl, Anette Kuhn, Tom Schreiber, Jakob Weydemann and Rosa Hannah Ziegler took on this task and have nominated four films: 

  • Maman Maman Maman, 2019, 37 min., by Lucia Margarita Bauer
  • Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off), 2018, 14 min., by Lukas Marx
  • Final Stage, 2017, 27 min., by Nicolaas Schmidt
  • Happy Happy Baby, 2016, 20 min., by Jan Soldat

The award winner will be chosen by the first jury of the Preis der Nationalgalerie. The winner will be announced together with the winner of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019 on 12  September.