Please note the changed opening hours of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin since 16 April 2024. More

The Foundation Board of the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz Sets Course for Directorial Positions at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin


On 23 November 2020, the Stiftungsrat (Foundation Board) of the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation), chaired by Monika Grütters, Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, was largely in agreement to establish a new course for important directorial positions at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.

Going forward, the directorship of the Nationalgalerie will be divided into three positions. Individual directors are to be responsible for the Alte Nationalgalerie (including the Friedrichwerderscher Kirche); the Neue Nationalgalerie (including the future Museum des 20. Jahrhunderts, the Museum Berggruen and the Sammlung Scharf-Gerstenberg); and for Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin. This divides responsibility for these venues into 19th, 20th and 21st century art, respectively. Organisational conditions will now be created for this new management structure.

An official search for a new director of the Gemäldegalerie as well as the Skulpturensammlung und Museum für Byzantinische Kunst, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, goes into effect on 1 February 2021. Michael Eissenhauer’s position as director expires on 31 January 2021 as contractually agreed. In addition to his function as Director-General, he has been head of the Gemäldegalerie since 1 August 2016. Here, the Stiftungsrat is following a recommendation of the Wissenschaftsrat (WR, German Council of Science and Humanities) to separate the responsibilities for the Gemäldegalerie and the General Directorate of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.