Preis der Nationalgalerie: the four nominees have been announced


The Preis der NationalgaleriefürjungeKunstwill be awarded in autumn 2013 for the seventh time in its history. The four nominated artists have now been selected by an international jury from the more than 140 proposed artists submitted to the first round.
The nominees are:Kerstin Brätsch, Mariana Castillo Deball, Simon Denny, and HarisEpaminonda. The four artists will feature in a joint exhibition held in summer 2013 at the Hamburger Bahnhof as they compete for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2013.

The longlist of 140 hopefuls was made up of submissions sent in by museum directors and curators from across Europe, as well as by members of the Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie.
The decision reached by the five-person jury reflects the current internationalism of the art scene in Germany. Four artists have been selected who can already claim to exert some influence on the state of contemporary art as a result of the new artistic approaches they have forged in their work.What the four artists all have in common in their approaches is the exploration of how various realities are conveyed through different forms of media. They also all produce immersive, room-sized installations or environments in which the key concepts or themes in their works are embedded.
Also announced at the event on Wednesday were some important changes to how the prize is to be awarded. These changes aim to alter the character of the Preis der NationalgaleriefürjungeKunst, making it a more museum-based flavour. From 2013 the accolade will no longer be purely associated with prize money. The winner will instead be honoured with a carefully curated solo exhibition, accompanied by a specially produced catalogue, which will go on show in one of the separate departments that make up the Nationalgalerie. This solo exhibition will be held in the year after the award is given.
The Preis der Nationalgalerieexhibition will open on 30 August 2013, featuring works by each of the four nominated artists. The decision as to the final winner for 2013 will be made by a second jury. The award ceremony will be take place on 19 September 2013 at the Hamburger Bahnhof. The newly created PreisfürjungeFILMkunst will also be awarded on the night, for the second time in its history.
The Preis der NationalgaleriefürjungeKunst focusses on honouring young, important figures in contemporary art. The competition is open to artists from all over the world who currently work in Germany and who are under 40 years of age.
The shortlist nomination was attended by some 800 guests from the world of art, business, and the public, in a ceremony held at the Kurfürstendammshowrooms of the competition's long-standing partner: BMW

For more details go to: