Please note the changed opening hours of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin since 16 April 2024. More


Neues Museum wins EU Prize for contemporary architecture

Neues Museum

The European Commission announced that the Neues Museum is the winner of the 2011 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture / Mies van der Rohe Award. The 'Emerging Architect Special Mention' award goes to Ramon Bosch and Bet Capdeferro for the Collage House in Girona, Spain.

The original Neues Museum, designed by Friedrich August Stüler, was built in the mid-19th century. The building was severely damaged in the Second World War and reconstruction began in 2003, with the aim of restoring the site to its former glory.

David Chipperfield, who worked on the project with fellow British architect Julian Harrap, adopted a dynamic approach in his restoration. Rather than attempting to conceal the difference between the old and new elements, the past and present are beautifully combined to create an unforgettable building with multiple layers.

The winners were chosen from 343 submitted works in 33 European countries.

Six works were shortlisted for the Prize.

The other finalists were:

- Bronks Youth Theatre (Brussels, Belgium, designed by Martine De Maeseneer, Dirk Van den Brande);

- MAXXI: Museum of XXI Century Arts (Rome, Italy, by Zaha Hadid, Patrick Schumacher, Gianluca Racana);

- Concert House Danish Radio (Copenhagen, Denmark, by Jean Nouvel);

- Acropolis Museum (Athens, Greece, by Bernard Tschumi) and

- Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal (Arnhem, The Netherlands, by Koen van Velsen).

The award ceremony will take place on 20 June 2011 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona (Mies van der Rohe Award 2011).

The European Union prize for Contemporary Architecture is supported by the European Commission in the framework of its Culture Programme and by the Mies van der Rohe Foundation.