Please note the changed opening hours of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin since 16 April 2024. More


German Design Award, 2021 for „Moholy-Nagy und die Neue Typografie“


The German version of the publication Moholy-Nagy und die Neue Typografie (Moholy-Nagy and the New Typography), which appeared in conjunction with the 2019 exhibition László Moholy-Nagy and the New Typography: A Reconstruction of a Berlin Exhibition from 1929 at the Kunstbibliothek (Art Library), has been declared a winner of the German Design Award in 2021.

The German Design Award is the top international prize awarded by the German Design Council, whose goal is to discover, present and honour unique design trends. The award is granted annually to outstanding entries from the fields of product and communication design that in their specific manner are pioneering in the international design landscape. The German Design Award, initiated in 2012, is one of the world’s most well-known design competitions and enjoys high esteem extending far beyond professional circles.

The Publication Moholy-Nagy und die Neue Typografie

Moholy-Nagy und die Neue Typografie. Ein A‒Z. (Moholy-Nagy and the New Typography. A‒Z.) Prof. Petra Eisele, Prof. Isabel Naegele and Dr. Michael Lailach (eds.) for the Hochschule Mainz and the Kunstbibliothek, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin; Institut Designlabor Gutenberg (Verlag Kettler, German/English versions, hardcover, 24 x 30 cm, 256 pages, 65,00 euros, ISBN: 978-3-86206-753-4 [DE]; 978-3-86206-754-1 [EN])

Design: Isabel Naegele, Julia Neller
Project assistant: Julia Neller


  • Gold Medal in the Deutscher Designer Club’s (DDC, German Designer Club) “Gute Gestaltung 2019” competition
  • Certificate of Typographic Excellence from the Type Directors Club (TDC), Tokyo, 2019
  • European Design Award, 2020, in Gold
  • Certificate of Typographic Excellence from the Type Directors Club (TDC), New York, 2020
  • Winner of the German Design Award, 2020