Christina Haak, Deputy Director-General of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Elected Vice President of the Deutscher Museumsbund


Prof. Dr. Christina Haak, deputy director-general of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, was elected vice president of the Deutscher Museumsbund during the Deutscher Museumsbund’s general assembly on 8 May 2018 in Bremen. She succeeds Prof. Dr. Wiebke Ahrndt, director of the Übersee-Museum Bremen, after eight years in office.

Prof. Dr. Eckart Köhne has been reelected as the association’s president. The director of the Badisches Landesmuseum Karlsruhe has already been a member of the Deutscher Museumbund’s board since 2010 and its president since 2014.

Also on the new board, which is voted in for a four-year period of office, are: Dr. Jens Bortloff (TECHNOSEUM, Mannheim), Dr. Heidrun Derks (Varusschlacht im Osnabrücker Land, Bramsche-Kalkriese), Gregor Isenbort (DASA Arbeitswelt Ausstellung, Dortmund), Dr. Susanne Köstering (Museumsverband des Landes Brandenburg e.V.), Prof. Dr. Rita Müller (Museum der Arbeit, Hamburg), Norbert Niedernostheide (Museum am Schölerberg, Osnabrück), Dr. Ute Pott (Gleimhaus. Museum der deutschen Aufklärung, Halberstadt), and Dr. Reinhard Spieler (Sprengel Museum, Hanover).

The general assembly of the Deutscher Museumsbund was held as part of the association’s annual meeting in Bremen, under this year’s title ‘A Question of Stance: Which Values Do Museums Represent?’. The meeting was well-attended, and presenters from Germany and abroad, as well as some 400 participants, discussed whether and how museums are political today and which values they represent for society.

The Deutscher Museumsbund, founded in 1917, represents the interests of German museums and their employees and currently has about 3,300 members.