Webinar “Untold Stories: Women and the Asian Art Trade” on 30 September 2021

27.09.2021
Museum für Asiatische Kunst

Focusing on historical figures, this webinar reveals the often overlooked—but nevertheless profound—impact of women who shaped private and public collections, thereby influencing the field of Asian art history.

Bringing together historians, museum curators, archivists, and provenance specialists, Untold Stories: Women and the Asian Art Trade features new research that illuminates the diversity within the interconnected networks that moved Asian art around the globe from the late nineteenth to the twentieth century. While women were part of these networks, their contributions have sustained little scholarly focus—until now.

Information

This program is the third installment of the series Hidden Networks: Trade in Asian Art, co-organized by the Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Asian Art; Museum für Asiatische Kunst, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin; and the Harvard Art Museums. 

30 September 2021:

  • 8:30 am – 12 pm (Washington, DC, EDT)
  • 1:30 pm – 5 pm (London)
  • 2:30 pm – 6 pm (Berlin) 

Program

https://asia.si.edu/research/scholarly-programs/untold-stories-women-and-the-asian-art-trade/

Online Registration

https://smithsonian.zoom.us/

The webinar is organized by:

  • Joanna Gohmann, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Washington, DC
  • Christine Howald, Zentralarchiv/Museum für Asiatische Kunst, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
  • Sarah Laursen, Harvard Art Museums, Cambridge, MA