Special Opening Hours during Public Holidays

On public holidays, generally the same opening times apply for the museums at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin as on Sundays. Special announcements are made for exceptions to this general rule, for example, at Christmas and New Year. Please check the website for more details closer to the date.

2020:

New Year (Wed 1 January 2020)
all museums open 12 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Musikinstrumenten-Museum closed

International Women's Day ( Sun 8 March 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday

Easter (Fri 10 April to Mon 13 April 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday
Musikinstrumenten-Museum Monday (13 April) closed

May Day (Fri 1 May 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday

Liberation Day (Fri 8 May 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday

Ascension Day (Thu 21 May 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday

Whitsun (Sat 30 May - 1 June 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday
Musikinstrumenten-Museum Monday closed

German Unification Day (Sat 3 October 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday

Christmas Eve (Thu 24 December 2020)
all museums are closed

Christmas Day (Fri 25 December 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday
Musikinstrumenten-Museum closed

Boxing Day (Sat 26 December 2020)
all museums open as usual on Sunday

New Year's Eve (Thu 31 December 2020)
open 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.: Pergamon Museum, Pergamonmuseum. Das Panorama and Neues Museum
all other museums are closed


2021:

New Year (Fri 1 January 2021)
all museums open 12 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Musikinstrumenten-Museum closed