Please note the changed opening hours of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin since 16 April 2024. More


Preis der Nationalgalerie 2021
Lamin Fofana. Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff. Sandra Mujinga. Sung Tieu

16.09.2021 to 27.02.2022
Hamburger Bahnhof – Nationalgalerie der Gegenwart

This past February, an international jury nominated Lamin Fofana, Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff, Sandra Mujinga and Sung Tieu for the Preis der Nationalgalerie in 2021. In the “Shortlist” exhibition at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin the nominated artists address topics such as movement and migration, belonging and alienation, self-perception and external perceptions of the self, shifting logics of public and private space, as well as the potential of sound and music to act as a social force. The exhibition shows both new and earlier works.

The artists on the shortlist were nominated by Adam Budak (director, Kestner Gesellschaft, Hanover), Andrea Lissoni (artistic director, Haus der Kunst, Munich), Zoé Whitley (director, Chisenhale Gallery, London) and Franciska Zólyom (director and curator, Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig).

The Preis der Nationalgalerie is a museum prize awarded every two years in support and recognition of outstanding work by artists under 40 who live in Germany. The award consists of a solo exhibition at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin during the course of 2022, accompanied by a publication.

Jury and Award

An international jury chose the prizewinner on 7 October 2021: Sandra Mujinga (b. 1989 in Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo). The jury consisted of: Emre Baykal (Exhibitions Director and Curator, Arter, Istanbul), Sven Beckstette (Curator, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin), Gabriele Knapstein (Director, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin), Emma Lavigne (President, Palais de Tokyo, Paris) and Yesomi Umolu (Director of Curatorial Affairs and Public Practice, Serpentine, London).

A special exhibition of the Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

The exhibition is made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie and supported by BMW.


Sandra Mujinga receives the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2021
© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / Benjamin Pritzkuleit
Rosa Barba. In a Perpetual Now, Exhibition view, Neue Nationalgalerie, 2021
© Rosa Barba / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2021, Foto: Andrea Rossetti
Visitors to the Neue Nationalgalerie
© Ludwig Mies van der Rohe / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021 /Staatliche Museen zu Berlin / Valerie Schmidt, 2021

Invalidenstraße 50 - 51
10557 Berlin

partially wheelchair accessible
Access to the Rieckhallen is currently not barrier-free. Please contact the information desk at the ticket office if necessary.

S+U-Bahn, Tram und Bus: Hauptbahnhof

Sun 11:00 - 18:00
Mon closed
Tue 10:00 - 18:00
Wed 10:00 - 18:00
Thu 10:00 - 20:00
Fri 10:00 - 18:00
Sat 11:00 - 18:00

Opening times on public holidays Opening Hours

Hamburger Bahnhof + temporary exhibitions
14,00 EUR Concessions 7,00
+ temporary exhibitions
Buy ticket

Annual Ticket from 25,00 EUR
free time slot ticket required

Tel 030 - 266 42 42 42 (Mon - Fri, 9 am - 4 pm)
Questions | Bookings | Feedback

Related Links

Website of the Preis der Nationalgalerie