Detail

Art of Islamic Cultures

01.01.2000 until further notice
Pergamonmuseum

The Museum of Islamic Art is situated in the south wing of the Pergamonmuseum. Its permanent exhibition is dedicated to the art of Islamic peoples from the eighth to the nineteenth century. The works of art originate from the vast area stretching from Spain to India. The collection's main focus is on the Middle East including Egypt and Iran.

The broad spectrum of the collection includes architectural decorations, applied arts and crafts, jewelry, and rare illuminated and calligraphed manuscripts. The architectural decorations represent one of the major attractions, conveying also typical concepts of space and environments in various media: stone (the façade from Mshatta), stuccoes (archaeological finds from Samarra), painted wooden panelling (Aleppo Room) and wall ceramics in various techniques (prayer niches from Kashan and Konya).

The applied arts include works in all possible materials: ceramic vessels, metalwork, carvings in wood and bone, glasses, textiles, carpets. Within the area of books and ancient writings, the calligraphic works and miniatures from albums of Mogul times are of particular significance.

Offers for

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Pergamonmsueum / Achim Kleuker

Sun 17.02.2019 03:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Public tour
More Dates : Sat 23.02.2019   Sun 24.02.2019   Sat 02.03.2019   Mehr

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / Anton Roland Laub

Wed 20.02.2019 03:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Running-dialogue tour
More Dates : Wed 27.02.2019   Wed 06.03.2019   Wed 13.03.2019   Mehr

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Pergamonmsueum / Achim Kleuker
Take five. Highlights of the Pergamonmuseum (in English)

Sat 23.02.2019 11:00 am
Pergamonmuseum
Public tour
More Dates : Sat 02.03.2019   Sat 09.03.2019   Sat 16.03.2019   Mehr

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / Anton Roland Laub

Sat 23.02.2019 03:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Running-dialogue tour
More Dates : Sat 02.03.2019   Sat 09.03.2019   Sat 16.03.2019   Mehr

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / Anton Roland Laub

Wed 27.02.2019 03:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Running-dialogue tour
More Dates : Wed 27.03.2019   Wed 24.04.2019   Wed 22.05.2019   Mehr

Vasen-Teppich, Persien, um 1600, Wolle
© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / Johannes Kramer

Thu 07.03.2019 06:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Exhibition talk
More Dates : Thu 18.04.2019  

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Pergamonmuseum / Valerie Schmidt

Thu 28.03.2019 06:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Exhibition talk

© Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, Museumsinsel / Hans Christian Krass
Die Museumsinsel – Weltkulturerbe im Herzen Berlins
(Guided Tour in German)

Sat 06.04.2019 11:00 am
Museumsinsel Berlin
Public tour
More Dates : Sat 13.04.2019   Sat 20.04.2019   Sat 27.04.2019   Mehr

© Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin / Hans Christian Krass
The Museum Island – World Heritage in the heart of Berlin (in English)

Sun 07.04.2019 11:00 am
Museumsinsel Berlin
Public tour
More Dates : Sun 14.04.2019   Sun 21.04.2019   Sun 28.04.2019   Mehr

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / Georg Niedermeiser

Thu 09.05.2019 06:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Exhibition talk
More Dates : Thu 30.05.2019   Thu 20.06.2019  

Sun 17.02.2019 11:30 am
Pergamonmuseum
Exhibition talk
More Dates : Sun 17.03.2019   Sun 21.04.2019  

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / Reinhard Friedrich

Sat 23.02.2019 02:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Workshop
More Dates : Sat 09.03.2019   Sat 23.03.2019   Sat 13.04.2019   Mehr

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin/ Lia Darjes

Wed 17.04.2019 10:00 am
Pergamonmuseum
Workshop (several days)

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin / Anja Schäfer

Sat 11.05.2019 02:00 pm
Pergamonmuseum
Workshop
More Dates : Sat 25.05.2019   Sat 08.06.2019   Sat 22.06.2019  

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin/ Valerie Schmidt

Sun 19.05.2019 11:30 am
Pergamonmuseum
Exhibition talk
More Dates : Sun 16.06.2019  

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst, Johannes Kramer
Achtung Monster!


Workshop

Zu sehen ist ein Ausschnitt aus einer fast vollständig erhaltene Stuckplatte, auf der ein Perlhuhn plastisch dargestellt ist.
© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst
Ausgraben, Forschen, Präsentieren


Workshop

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Pergamonmuseum / Valerie Schmidt
Fünf Highlights – eine Stunde


Ausstellungsgespräch

© Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin / Nina Hansch
Geheime Symbole – verschlüsselte Botschaften


Ausstellungsgespräch

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / RuB
Kalligrafie


Workshop

© bpk / Museum für Islamische Kunst, SMB / Christian Krug
Kulturtranfer


Ausstellungsgespräch

© Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin / Valerie Schmidt
Märchen und Mythen aus islamischen Kulturen


Ausstellungsgespräch

© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Museum für Islamische Kunst / Georg Niedermeiser
Muster – Kunst und Mathematik im Alltag


Workshop

© Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin / Valerie Schmidt
Religiöse Vielfalt islamischer Kulturen


Ausstellungsgespräch

© Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin / Nina Hansch
Schön und vollkommen?


Ausstellungsgespräch

Visitor entrance

Bodestraße
10178 Berlin

U-Bahn U6 (Friedrichstraße)
S-Bahn S1, S2, S25, S26 (Friedrichstraße); S3, S5, S7, S9 (Hackescher Markt)
Tram M1, 12 (Am Kupfergraben); M4, M5, M6 (Hackescher Markt)
Bus TXL (Staatsoper); 100, 200 (Lustgarten); 147 (Friedrichstraße)

Low-carbon public transport connections
Local traffic
Long distance

Sun 10:00 - 18:00
Mon 10:00 - 18:00
Tue 10:00 - 18:00
Wed 10:00 - 18:00
Thu 10:00 - 20:00
Fri 10:00 - 18:00
Sat 10:00 - 18:00

Opening times on public holidays Plan your visit
During the current stage of renovations, the hall containing the Pergamon Altar is due to remain closed to the public until 2023. The north wing and the gallery of Hellenistic art are also affected by the closure. The South Wing of the Pergamonmuseum, featuring the Market Gate of Miletus, the Ishtar Gate and Processional Way from Babylon, and the Museum of Islamic Art, remains unaffected and is open to the public during this time.
At the moment the finds from Uruk and Habuba Kabira as well as the rooms with babylonian and ancient iranian monuments are not accessible to the public.

Please note that the elevator is out of order until further notice and that due to construction and the high volume of visitors, longer waiting times may be experienced.

Last admission and ticket sales 30 minutes before closing time.

Pergamon-Ticket
19 EUR Concessions 9,50
Buy ticket

Museum Island all exhibitions
18,00 EUR Concessions 9,00
Buy ticket

Annual ticket Basicpermanent exhibitions, certain times
25,00 EUR

Museum Pass Berlin 3 days for permanent exhibitions
29,00 EUR Concessions 14,50
Buy ticket

Annual ticket Classictemporary exhibitions not included
50,00 EUR Concessions 25,00

Annual ticket Classic Plusall exhibitions
100,00 EUR Concessions 50,00


Annual membership Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

from just 25,00 EUR

Weitere Informationen

Tel 030 - 266 42 42 42 (Mon - Fri, 9 am - 4 pm)
Questions | Bookings | Feedback